For the first time in history, the WWE World Heavyweight Championship will be defended in the 2016 Royal Rumble match.

Who will be in the brawl?

Several names were already floating as top favorites for the upcoming 2016 WWE Royal Rumble. Among the early favorites to win the Rumble and go on to challenge the WWE World Heavyweight Championship at WrestleMania 32 are Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Brock Lesnar.

The Rock already announced that he will be at WrestleMania 32, but according to Forbes, it is still unclear whether or not he will wrestle on the show.

The Wrestle Zone reported that the wrestler/actor’s “availability for RAW and other promotional appearances still might be limited due to his shooting schedule for Baywatch” and what is still unclear is if he will actually compete in a Mania match.

Forbes noted that The Rock’s last two WrestleMania appearances – WrestleMania 30 and 31 – have been limited to in-ring promo segments. Each of those appearances were unannounced. This sparked speculations that there could be a chance that Rock will indeed wrestle now that his upcoming appearance was announced beforehand.

Bleacher Report noted if WWE wants to make WrestleMania 32 the biggest spectacle in wrestling history, they should let The Rock walk out of the 2016 Royal Rumble with the championship.

Meanwhile, Lesnar is the clear favorite while John Cena currently sits at a distant second, according to

The International Business Times reported that there is a big chance that Lesnar would join the Royal Rumble match. If he will enter his name in the match, that could set up a rematch with Roman Reigns at WrestleMania 32 or a WWE World Championship Match with The Rock.

The following wresting superstars have been declared official participants in the 2016 Royal Rumble match as reported by

  1. WWE World Heavyweight Champion Roman Reigns
  2. Chris Jericho
  3. Bray Wyatt
  4. Erick Rowan
  5. Luke Harper
  6. Braun Strowman
  7. Dolph Ziggler
  8. Ryback
  9. Big Show
  10. Curtis Axel

The Royal Rumble airs live on Jan. 24 at 8 ET/5 PT on WWE Network.