After the Australia vs Bangladesh Cricket series was cancelled following the alleged involvement of ISIS activities ahead of the tournament, Australia will fly to Bangladesh as scheduled for their 2018 World Cup qualifier in Dhaka on Tuesday despite security concerns, the Football Federation Australia confirmed.

Cricket Australia cancelled the two match test series in October in Bangladesh following the death of an Italian Businessman, which the ISIS claimed responsibility, despite repeated requests from the Bangladesh Cricket Board to continue with the series.

According to Yahoo News, the FFA said “The decision followed discussions with the Australian government, its department of foreign affairs, the Bangladesh government and FIFA.”

Following one of the most devastating acts of terrorism in Paris which left 129 dead and almost 350 wounded, all major sporting activities were cancelled on Saturday in the Paris region. Things went terribly wrong on the eve of Friday the 13th and the deadly attack left young souls bloodied on the streets of Paris.

Two explosions went off which left three dead outside Stade de France during the national team’s match against Germany. In the aftermath of all these horrifying incidents, security concerns have increased a hundred fold.

FFA had earlier made a request to move the Bangladesh match to a safer location, but it was rejected. “Prudently, we are reducing the amount of time they’ll spend in Dhaka,” FFA chief executive David Gallop said. “We are minimizing the time on the ground.”

The Australian Football team, Socceroos, will reach Dhaka on Monday, spend a single night there and leave immediately after the match, as per the Associated Press reports.

Australia trails Jordan by just one point in Group B and is looking forward to win the upcoming contest.

2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Bangladesh vs Australia

Round 2 – Group B

Venue: Bangabandhu National Stadium Dhaka (BAN)

Date & Time: 17 Nov 2015 – 17:30 Local time

Live Stream: Live Soccer TV


Referee: Wang DI (CHN)

Assistant Referee 1: Wang DEXIN (CHN)

Assistant Referee 2: Shi XIANG (CHN)

Fourth Official: Pratap SINGH (IND)