Music fans of the Canadian teen heartthrob have reason to rejoice with the release of the Shawn Mendes Illuminate album.

Mark the date on your calendars as the new Shawn Mendes Illuminate album is set to come out on September 23. This is his follow-up to Handwritten, which came out last year. Prior to its release, the Canadian pop singer gifted his fans with a new single titled Treat You Better, which is from his new record.

Interestingly, the lyrics of the song even led many to wonder if he meant if for Fifth Harmony member Camila Cabello. Neither Shawn nor Camila confirmed the speculation but maintain they are great friends. The Shawn Mendes Illuminate tracklist consists of 12 tracks for the standard release. The deluxe version includes three more tracks. He recently dropped the music video for his second single titled Mercy also from the new album.

“The echoey choir backing the chorus’ pleas for mercy read a little too literally, but the song still emerges as one of Illuminate’s radio-bound highlights,” USA Today described Mercy.

Mendes lists John Mayer and Jason Mraz among his musical inspirations. Hence, his new album might call to mind the guitar-strumming narratives of Mraz and the gravity of Mayer’s music. Yet through it all, the signature voice of the Canadian pop singer shines through.

Shawn Mendes Illuminate Album Tracklist

1. Ruin
2. Mercy
3. Treat You Better
4. Three Empty Words
5. Don’t Be A Fool
6. Like This
7. No Promises
8. Lights On
9. Honest
10. Patience
11. Bad Reputation
12. Understand

13. Hold On (Bonus Track)
14. Roses (Bonus Track)
15. Mercy (Acoustic Bonus Track)

As expected, his latest studio offering displays his lyrical genius. Shawn is either the writer or co-writer of the tracks, Direct Lyrics noted. For download details and to listen to the tracks, check out this link.