As the world watched with thrill and fingers crossed, “Mad Max: Fury Road” pulled a record at the 88th Academy Awards but loses the Best Picture at the Oscars. The Australian film won all the technical awards. It had swept away six Oscars out of 10 nominations.

George Miller’s film dominated the first half of the event with best costume design, production design, makeup, hairstyling, editing, sound editing and sound mixing. Eight Australians became Oscar winners, says The Sydney Morning Herald.

Here’s all you need to know about other Australian entries.

Best Picture Oscars: Nominations and Winners

In 1996, Chris Noonan’s “Babe” got a nomination in the Best Picture category. It lost the award to Mel Gibson’s “Braveheart.”

In 1997, Australian film “Shine” was nominated but lost the Oscars to Anthony Minghella’s “The English Patient.”

Australian-American film “Moulin Rouge” was nominated in 2002 and won eight Oscars except the one for the Best Picture. The film depicted the life of a young Scottish writer who falls in love with a terminally ill cabaret dancer, according to Roger Ebert.

The Beautiful Mind” won the Best Picture the same year.

Finally, this year American film “Spotlight” won the Best Picture awards keeping at bay Australia’s Mad Max: Fury Road.

Best Director Oscars: Nominations and Winners

Chris Noonan was nominated for Best Director for 1995 Australian film “Babe,” but lost to Mel Gibson for “Braveheart.”

In 1997, Scott Hicks lost the Best Director Oscars to Anthony Minghella. Hicks’ “Shine” is a biographical drama film based on the life of pianist David Helfgott, says Internet Movie Database.

This year Miller competed in the Best Director category for Mad Max.

Alejandro Inarritu won the Best Director award for the American film “The Revenant.”

Oscars 2016: Nominations and Winners

This year, Mad Max: Fury Road lost the Best Picture award to Tom McCarthy’s “Spotlight.”

Other participants were, “The Big Short,” “Bridge of Spies,” “Brooklyn,” “The Martian,” “The Revenant” and “Room.”

Mad Max: Fury Road is the first film of the “Mad Max” franchise to receive Academy Award acknowledgement and one of the few sequels to be nominated for Best Picture.