Lionel Messi has done it again. The ace Argentinian dethroned Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Ballon d’Or for the fifth time ending the Portuguese hold on the award for the third consecutive time.

Messi was on the list of top three footballers in the World. The list also included Barcelona star forward and Brazilian great Neymar Jr. and Real Madrid legend Cristiano Ronaldo. Messi was awarded the best footballer on the planet tag again after 2012.

However, the Puskas Award went to Brazilian Striker Wendell Lira.

As per the Mirror UK reports, “Messi took top spot with 41.33 percent, ahead of Ronaldo with 27.76 percent. Neymar finished in third with just 7.86 percent.”

Injury plagued him throughout 2015 but he came out with flying colors and so did his club Barcelona.

“It is a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage, winning again another Ballon d’Or after being there in the audience watching Cristiano win,” he said.

“It’s incredible this is my fifth. It’s much more than anything I’ve dreamed of as a kid.

“I want to thank everyone who voted for me and I want to hank my team-mates. And lastly, I want to thank football in general for everything it has brought me. Both the bad and the good. Because it has made me learn and grow.”

Messi was also named in the FIFA Pro World XI along with current teammate Neymar and rival opponent Cristiano Ronaldo.

But there was something off about this year’s Ballon d’Or. Many seemed to be miffed with the award going to Messi as it was evident from Ronaldo’s reaction after Messi, who was seated next to him, was called for the  top honor.

The quoted, “As many as 30 international captains failed to name Messi as one of their top three players of 2015, with some of the biggest names in football leaving the Barcelona star out.”

It was surprising to see some of the greats question the likes of Messi who has successfully dominated the game for so long.

Here is a list of players who didn’t vote for Messi.

Mile Jedinak (Australia), Christian Fuchs (Austria), Stephane Mbia (Cameroon), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Michael Mifsud (Malta), Chris Wood (New Zealand), Per Ciljan Skelbred (Norway), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Scott Brown (Scotland), Diego Godin (Uruguay)