India will kick start their ICC T20 World Cup campaign at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur, against New Zealand on Tuesday, March 15, starting 2 PM GMT.

India has been in exceptional form lately after winning the T20 series in Australia and then adapting to sub-continent conditions to clinch the Asia Cup 2-16 title. Needless to say, the host country’s terrific run in the T20s has paved the way for ICC’s number one T20 ranking.

According to Sportskeeda, India will start as favourites while the Kiwis can topple any team on any given day. Ross Taylor missed the entire series against Australia but played the warm-up match against England before the T20 World Series.

The Kiwis will have to bank on their spinners to gain the maximum out of the spinning tracks in the Indian Subcontinent. Winning the toss will be an advantage and put runs on the scoreboard.

According to EspnCricinfo reports, Mohammed Shami is unlikely to start versus the Kiwis. Harbhajan Singh and Ajinkya Rahane will be benched.

New Zealand play their next match against arch rivals, Australia on March 18. India will play Pakistan on March 19 in a high voltage encounter at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.


India XI Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (c, wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand XI Squad: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliot, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

Recent Form

India: WWWWW

New Zealand: WWLWW

Match Schedule

India vs New Zealand, ICC T20 World Cup

Date: Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Time: 07:30 PM IST, 02:00 PM GMT, 3 a.m. NZT

Venue: Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Live Stream: Star Sports, Hotstar App

TV listings:

India: Star Sports 1, Star Sports HD1, Star Sports 3, Star Sports HD 3

New Zealand: Sky Sport 1

UK: Sky Sports HD2

USA and Canada: Willow TV

Australia: Fox Sports 3