India will take on West Indies in the 2nd semi-final of the ICC World T20 championship on Thursday, Mar. 31, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, starting 7 pm local time and 1.30 pm GMT.

As per the ESPN Cric Info reports, Virat Kohli has been in exquisite form and he ensured the entry of the ‘Men in Blue’ into the final stages of the T20 World championship. The home team’s last game against Australia was enough to prove their mettle as the semi-finalists, while West Indies emerged table toppers of Group 1.

But Kohli is being regarded as the lone performer in the Indian batting order. The likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma as well as Suresh Raina failed to rise up to the occasion. Yuvraj Singh too didn’t impress with the bat. An ankle injury during the game against Australia ruled him out of the tournament which opened up opportunities for Manish Sharma and ‘benched’ Ajinkya Rahane. 

India team director Ravi Shastri was quoted as saying, ”We’ve played to 70% of our abilities in this tournament. So there’s still 30% in areas we need to improve, so lets hope it happens tomorrow.”

It would be interesting to see how the Indian captain MS Dhoni picks his final XI at Wankhede. So far West Indies is concerned, Darren Sammy isn’t concerned about Kohli’s form. When asked whether he was wary of Kohli’s impact in the game, the West Indies captain said,  “No not really, have you ever heard of Chris Gayle?”

According to Cric Buzz, Wankhede proved to be the only good batting surface in the tournament. The pitch promises to be a run feast. Stay tuned for more updates.

England beat New Zealand in the 1st Semi final by 7-wickets to book a ticket to the ICC World T20 final in Kolkata.

Form guide

India WWWLW (last five completed matches, most recent first)

West Indies LWWWW

Team News

Team India probable XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey/Ajinkya Rahane/Pawan Negi, MS Dhoni (capt and wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

Team West Indies probable XI: Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy (capt), Carlos Brathwaite, Suliemann Benn, Samuel Badree

Match Schedule

Date: Thursday, 31 March 2016

Time: 7 pm local time, 1:30 pm GMT

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Live Stream: Star Sports Live