Australia will play New Zealand at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association in Dharamsala to start off their World T20 campaign on Thursday, 17 March, starting 9:30 pm GMT.

Dharamsala will be suitable for both teams as the pitch is not the spinning type. Weather conditions, too, will be soothing to the players.

As per the ESPN Cricinfo reports, John Hastings will be joining his team after a “spate” of injuries. He even says that the transition as to be quick as bowlers need to adapt to low-bounce producing tracks of India.

He says, “I think our plans will change slightly. We just came off playing in Australia and South Africa where traditionally the ball carries through so you can afford to be back of a length trying to get the nicks to carry or get a catch in the outfield.”

“But we have to bowl more at the stumps [here]. It can be difficult to reassess. For me, it is a little bit more difficult because it’s not my natural length. We just have to be a little fuller and bowling at the stumps and not be too predictable. If we’re too slow to react, then the game can get away from us.”

Australia had a successful stint in South Africa as they clinched the three-match T20 tournament by comprehensively beating the host country.

As per the official ICC reports, New Zealand looks to be in good form as they beat the hosts in the opening match of their T2O campaign by 47-runs. Mitchell Santner picked up four-wickets as Ish Sondhi managed to scalp three on the spinning track at Nagpur.


Australia: Steve Smith (C), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill (Wk), Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan Mccullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi (Wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Match Schedule

Australia vs New Zealand, ICC T20 World Cup

Date: Wednesday, 17 March 2016

Time: 3 PM local time, 9:30 pm GMT

Venue: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association, Dharamsala

Live Stream: Star Sports

TV Info: Fox Sports (Australia), Star Sports (India), Sky Sports ((UK), Sky Sports (New Zealand), Willow TV (USA), SuperSport (South Africa), ESPN Caribbeans (West Indies)