UEFA has announced the three remaining finalists who are still in the running to become Europe’s best player for the 2015/1016 season. The Spanish La Liga has shown its dominance over other European leagues by producing the top three. The nominees are Antoine Griezmann of Atletico Madrid and Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid. Here are some points that demonstrate how Cristiano Ronaldo appears to have an edge over the other two contenders.

First of all, Ronaldo’s club, Real Madrid, is the holder of the UEFA Champions League Trophy. One may argue that Gareth Bale was also instrumental in Los Blancos’ road to their 11th Champions League trophy, but it was Ronaldo who scored 16 goals. He is the leading scorer in that competition for the fourth consecutive season.

Despite not making a huge impact in the final match, Ronaldo lifted Real Madrid out of the ashes in their semi-finals against Wolfsburg. Trailing 2-0 down after the first leg, Ronaldo’s hat trick in the home game kept the team on course for “La Undecima.”

To further stamp his dominance over the other two contenders, Real Madrid also won the Champions League against Antoine Griezmann and Atletico Madrid. There were high hopes that Griezmann will lead Atletico’s revenge against their city rivals after losing the final match back in 2014 after leading for most of the game. However, Ronaldo and the rest of Real Madrid were able to foil their dreams of exacting vengeance upon their rivals.

While both Ronaldo and Gareth Bale figured prominently for Real Madrid last season, Ronaldo does one better by also taking the Euro 2016 trophy with Portugal. He led his team through an underwhelming run to the final, but through unbelievable team spirit, they managed to edge out host nation France. On the way to the finals, Ronaldo had to face Bale when Portugal clashed against Wales in the semi-finals.

The journalists in UEFA’s member associations have the privilege of voting for the season’s best player. It remains to be seen if Ronaldo will come out victorious. The winner will be announced on Aug. 25.