The stage is set for the world to witness one of the most extravagant Cricketing affairs–a clash between the Stars and the Thunder. Battle between two brothers.

The Melbourne Stars will meet the Sydney Thunder in the epic final of the Big Bash League Season 5 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday, Jan. 24, starting at 7:20 PM local time.

Usman Khawaja’s 58-ball 103 took the Sydney Thunder past the best team in the league, the Adelaide Strikers, in their own backyard to seal a spot in the Finals of the BBL05. Mike Hussey is playing his last event in his illustrious career. He shall be happy to take the trophy before leaving the game of Cricket.

According to Roar, Kevin Peterson played a brilliant knock of 62 run off 36-balls to edge past the defending champions, the Perth Scorchers.

The response and popularity of the Big Bash form of cricket have grown a million fold. As ESPN Cric Info aptly puts it, “In the BBL, tradition has been created both quickly and with success. More notable than the bumper TV ratings, the youthful, next-gen make-up of the competition’s devotees, and the dramatic, dynamic cricket, has been the sheer volume of people flooding through the gates.”


Melbourne Stars: David Hussey (c), Michael Beer, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sam Harper, John Hastings, Ben Hilfenhaus, Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Tom Triffitt (wk), Daniel Worrall, Luke Wright, Adam Zampa

Sydney Thunder: Michael Hussey (c), Ahillen Beadle, Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Jake Doran, Fawad Ahmed, Chris Green, Chris Hartley (wk), Jacques Kallis, Usman Khawaja, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Gurinder Sandhu, Shane Watson

Match Schedule

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, Big Bash League 2015-16 Final

Date: Sunday, 24 January 2016

Time: 7:20 PM Local Time, 8:20 AM GMT

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Live Stream: Star Sports