The shortlist for the 11th Australian Music Prize has been revealed and two of the biggest names in Australian music at the moment, nominees Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett, are engaged in a feud of the artistic kind to bag the coveted music award.

Barnett and Impala have both recently won ARIA Awards 2015 for Album of the Year and Best Female Artist, respectively, have achieved international success and won critical praise for their songs.

A total of 10 albums have been shortlisted from more than 300, reports The Sydney Morning Herald. They are:

Courtney Barnett – “Sometimes I Sit And Think, Sometimes I Just Sit”

Dan Kelly – “Leisure Panic”

Dick Diver – “Melbourne, Florida”

Gold Class – “It’s You”

Jess Ribeiro – “Kill It Yourself”

Methyl Ethel – “Oh Inhuman Spectacle”

My Disco – “Severe”

Royal Headache – “High”

Sarah Blasko – “Eternal Return”

Tame Impala – “Currents”

It is interesting to note that the total number of nominees this year is 10 rather than the traditional nine. This is because the judges, according to Chairperson of the short-list panel, Dave Faulkner, felt that this was one of the “strongest years we’ve ever had in Australian music,” notes with AAP.

“Artists like Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett have won recognition around the world for their work but there were countless other excellent albums released across a whole range of genres last year,” Faulkner said in a statement. He added that this is “only the second time this has happened since the Australian Music Prize began eleven years ago.”

American musician and radio host Henry Rollins, a regular contributor to Rolling Stone Australia and LA Weekly, will be the guest speaker at this year’s event.

“In my opinion, there are so many great bands making great albums in Australia, you would be spoiled for choice to pick out a single best album but it will be interesting to see what happens,” Rollins said of his role as guest speaker. He mentioned that he is a fan of Australian music and that it consists “a large part” of his listening.

“I’m quite honoured and excited to be a part of the Australian Music Prize,” Rollins added.

Also, reports that no South Australian artistes and their songs are among the finalists despite being part of the previously released longlist. Nominees from Melbourne like Dan Kelly, Dick Diver, Jess Ribeiro, Gold Class, My Disco and Barnett are the dominant bunch this year.

The winner of this year’s AMP award will receive $30,000 in prize money courtesy of Phonographic Performance Company of Australia Ltd (PPCA).