Australia’s cricket captain, Steven Smith, has won the ICC cricketer of the year and the Test cricketer of the year for the year 2014-15.

Smith scored a staggering 1,734 runs in 13 Tests at an average of 82.57, with seven tons and six half-centuries during 18th September 2014 to 13th September 2015 — the official voting period of the ICC awards.

Smith also made 1,249 runs at 59.47 in ODIs, including being the sixth highest run scorer in the World Cup, where he guided Australia to a memorable victory against New Zealand in the final at the MCG.

Speaking to ESPN Cricinfo after he received the award, Clarke said he was humbled and surprised at the same time.

“Given that there are so many great players around the world, I’m incredibly honoured to receive these awards. While team success is always my number one motivation, awards like this are very special. I’m thrilled and very proud to receive them.

To be the best team that we can be, we have to become better at winning away from home, and that remains our motivation heading into 2016.”

Smith has also become an influential figure in the locker room after Clarke’s dismissal as captain, leading the team to 2-0 victory over New Zealand just last month. Even though Clarke achieved plenty of accolades for his aggressive captaincy, he always remained a polarising figure. Smith has kept his place as captain of the test and ODI with his own style of intensity and panache.

Awards list

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Steven Smith
Test Cricketer of the Year – Steven Smith
ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers
Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning
Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor
T20I Performance of the Year – Faf du Plessis
Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Josh Hazlewood
Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Khurram Khan
Spirit of Cricket Award – Brendon McCullum
Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough