Australia will take on New Zealand on this planet’s fastest track for the second test starting Nov. 13 on Friday at the Western Australia Cricket Association (WACA) Ground in Perth. If reports are to be believed, WACA curator is trying to replicate ‘the olden days’ with pitch for the upcoming Test, according to ABC.

Australia registered a thumping 208 run victory against New Zealand in the first test at Gabba, Brisbane. David Warner smashed two back to back centuries in both the innings with equally brilliant performances from Joe Burns and Usman Khawaja. Australian pace bowling was redefined by Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Johnson as they continued to heap more misery on the New Zealand batsmen.

Kane Williamson was the lone New Zealand batsman to show some resilience against the Aussie pace attack. Australian batsmen took advantage of New Zealand’s weak bowling performance to post mammoth totals in both the innings, as ESPN reported.

The WACA curator, Mathew Page, has reportedly told both teams to prepare for a fast and hostile wicket. The pitch didn’t feature in the 2014-15 Calendar. Apparently, the pitch didn’t seem to be like the same one as it used to be in the early 1970s. He believes that he can prepare a somewhat similar track for this test which would bring back old memories.

“The pace and bounce has returned since then,” he said. “We’re always compared with the olden days and for us it’s just trying to get it as close as we can.”

He further stated, “It’s gone really well and we’re really happy with where we’re at at this stage.”

Australia Squad

SPD Smith (C), DA Warner, JA Burns, JR Hazlewood, MG Johnson, UT Khawaja, NM Lyon, MR Marsh, PM Nevill (K), PM Siddle, MA Starc, AC Voges

New Zealand Squad

BB McCullum (C), TA Boult, DAJ Bracewell, MD Craig, MJ Guptill, MJ Henry, TWM Latham, MJ McClenaghan, L Ronchi (K), HD Rutherford, MJ Santner, TG Southee, LRPL Taylor, N Wagner, BJ Watling†, KS Williamson

Match Schedule

Australia v New Zealand

Date: Nov 13-17, 2015

Time: 10:30 local time (02:30 GMT)

Venue: Western Australia Cricket Association Ground, Perth

Live Stream: Star Sports