Thursday, September 29, 2016

Winds of Winter Release Date Is 2020? George R.R. Martin Has New Project

Winds of Winter Release Date Is 2020? George R.R. Martin Has New Project

wikipedia.org/Henry Söderlund

Advertisement

Winds of Winter release date may be pushed back even further after author George R.R. Martin announced his new TV project.

Martin revealed that the new sci-fi series will be based on his Wild Cards novels. This could be exciting news to some but for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, this could mean another delay for Winds of Winter.

The author revealed in his live journal that NBC’s Universal Cable Productions acquired the rights to develop the anthology series. GRRM also shared a summary of the upcoming Wild Cards TV series. He said it will be about a world after an alien virus attack. “Of those infected, 90 percent died horribly … 9 percent were twisted and deformed into jokers, while a lucky 1 percent became blessed with extraordinary and unpredictable powers and became aces.”

The first volume in the Wild Cards series was published three decades ago. There have been 22 volumes that were released so far. Since there are several characters in the Winds of Winter novels, Martin could not say for sure which of them will make into the TV series. GRRM however made an exception – Croyd Crenson. The author said the character will definitely be among those who will appear in the show.

Martin has expressed hope that the series would make it to small screen by next year or two.

Do you think the Wild Cards TV series project will delay Winds of Winter release date?

Since Martin has an exclusive development agreement with HBO, he said will not be working on NBC’s series, Variety noted. In addition, GRRM is also busy finishing Winds of Winter. The sixth installment in the A Song of Ice and Fire series is supposedly where Game of Thrones season 6 is to be based upon. Season 6 just concluded and the seventh installment of the Emmy award-winning series is expected to premiere next year.

Winds of Winter release date has been teased since last year. There have been rumors that it will come out soon, but the author himself has yet to give a definitive time on when it will roll in bookstores.

Stay tuned for more updates about Winds of Winter release date soon