The waiting game for the Winds of Winter release date is far from over. However, the latest report suggests a timeline that readers could look forward to.

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series have been patiently waiting for an announcement. However, the author is still quiet about it until now.

Thus far, it has been five years since he released the previous one. The public has been asking for at least a probable date of its launch.

That may be why Reddit user BryndenBFish has been trying to make a definitive time for the Winds of Winter release date. The “most prolific Game of Thrones theorist” probably wants to quench the thirst of supporters.

Rumor has it that the sixth novel might be out before Game of Thrones Season 7. However, BryndenBFish told The Verge that the book could be out in the first quarter of 2017.

“I looked at it by analyzing George’s writing speed for Dance With Dragons, and I still tend to see early 2017 as a potential date for when the book might come out,” the avid fan said.

The theorist also said that what matters most is the quality of the novel. As long as Martin has done great on the book then the wait is definitely worth it.

Of course, Game of Thrones Season 7 would be out in April next year so the theory is plausible enough for readers.

Notably, Martin made an announcement for the upcoming novel but it made fans disappointed. He said on his online blog that the book is far from finished.

Meanwhile, there is another speculation that the author will unveil the Winds of Winter release date when the HBO medieval series is done. The Atlantic quoted Martin saying that he’s been struggling to write the book.

However, the writer’s publisher HarperCollins defended him. They stated that Martin shall announce the good news when the right time comes.