Special Topics

Twitter Slammed For Algorithm Timeline: How to Disable it


The new Twitter algorithm timeline has been set to default by the company, and some of the users are not happy about the change. The new default setting that puts the most popular tweets to the top seemed to have sent the entire set up out of order.

“The 10 seconds where my @twitter was all out of order before I could opt out of their stupid algorithm were truly terrifying,” a user tweeted after discovering the new change.

The Next Web reported that the documentation of the feed was updated with the launch of the algorithm last month by adding a paragraph which said, “Tweets you are likely to care about most will show up first in your timeline. We choose them based on accounts you interact with most, Tweets you engage with, and much more. You can find instructions on how to turn off this behaviour here.”

The algorithm timeline also focuses on a selection which it considers important and that the user may have missed out on.

Users who did not enable the feature complained of finding their posts out of chronological order. Twitter started shifting the accounts to its new default setting since March 15, the Mail Online reported. However, there is a way to disable the feature and move it back to the previous order.

Anyone who wants to return to “Twitter Classic” would require to opt-out of the default setting manually. On iOS, the user will need to dive through Timeline and then go to “Timeline Personalisation” from where the ‘Show me the best Tweets first’ should be turned off.

On Android, the option can be found right under the Timeline settings. While accessing the account on the web, the option can be found by going to the “Settings” from the “Profile and Settings” option and then uncheck it under “content.” The user will be required to re-enter the password before saving the settings.

To Top