Australia are all set to take on Ireland in the Virgin International Rules Series at Croke Park, Dublin in Ireland on Saturday, Nov. 21. We bring you all the live action, Broadcast Schedule and a complete guide on this exciting series. Already known for its bizarre affair, the IRS are often torrid but entertaining.

The concept was the brainchild of former VFL Grand Final umpire, entrepreneur and media man Harry Beitzel. The first official International Rules Series was played in 1984 in Ireland and continued in 1986, 1987 and 1990. The rules set for the series makes it more interesting.

According to the official AFL website, The International Rules game is 15-a-side with eight interchange players. It is played in four 18-minute quarters. The complete guide is as follows:

  • If the ball hits a post and bounces back into play, it’s play on.
  • When the ball goes out of the rectangular field (145m x 90m), there are no boundary throw-ins. A free kick is awarded against the team that last touched the ball.
  • You can’t pick up the ball or drag it in when you’re on your knees
  • The ball must be bounced every 10m on a solo run – with a two-bounce maximum.
  • Tackles can only be between the thighs and shoulders, while shirtfronts and shepherds are outlawed.
  • AFL-style hand-passes are permitted, but only four in succession before a player must kick.
  • The referee is also permitted to give yellow cards (10 minutes off the ground) or red cards (sent off for the rest of the game) depending on the extent of a misdemeanor.

The complete broadcast guide is as follows.

The 2015 Virgin Australia International Rules Series will be broadcast live in Australia on Sunday morning, November 22, at the following times:

Sydney 5.30am LIVE on 7mate and the AFL app

Melbourne 5.30am LIVE on 7mate and the AFL app

Brisbane 4.30am LIVE on 7mate and the AFL app

Adelaide 5am LIVE on 7mate and the AFL app

Perth 2.30am LIVE on 7mate and the AFL app

National replay 9.30am on 7mate


Luke Hodge (c) (Hawthorn), Dustin Fletcher (gk) (Essendon), Hayden Ballantyne (Fremantle), Eddie Betts (Adelaide), Grant Birchall (Hawthorn), Luke Breust (Hawthorn), Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong), Andrew Gaff (West Coast), Brendon Goddard (Essendon), Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide), Dyson Heppell (Essendon), Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), David Mundy (Fremantle), Robert Murphy (Western Bulldogs), Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda), Tom Rockliff (Brisbane Lions), Jarryd Roughead (Hawthorn), Nick Smith (Sydney Swans), Jake Stringer (Western Bulldogs), Harry Taylor (Geelong), Easton Wood (Western Bulldogs)

Coach: Alastair Clarkson (Hawthorn)

Bernard Brogan (c) (Dublin), Lee Keegan (vc) (Mayo), Niall Morgan (gk) (Tyrone), Colm Begley (Laois), Gary Brennan (Clare), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Eoin Doyle (Kildare), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Paul Kerrigan (Cork), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary), Phillip McMahon (Dublin), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Rory O’Carroll (Dublin), John O’Loughlin (Laois), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Michael Quinn (Longford), Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Paul Cribbin (Kildare), Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)

Coach: Joe Kernan (Armagh)

The Australian team has been training in New York for the series with Luke Hodge appointed as captain. Here are some of the snapshots ahead of the series.