Facebook Activated Safety Check After Pakistan Blast, Apologises For The Bug


Several users around the world received a notification confirming if they had been affected by the terrorist attack in Lahore, Pakistan. In the wake of this incident, Facebook has apologised for safety check bug.

Facebook introduced Safety Check feature in November 2015, which can be activated by the company after terrorism attacks or natural disasters happens.

“We activated Safety Check today in Lahore, Pakistan, after a bombing that took place there. Unfortunately, many people not affected by the crisis received a notification asking if they were okay,” Facebook said on AFP (via Channel News Asia).

The Safety Check feature identifies users who are close to the event or the location and sends them a notification “so people in the area can let their friends and loved ones know they’re safe,” founder Mark Zuckerberg said in a Facebook post.

Soon after the bombing in Lahore happened, Facebook activated Safety Check which had sent notifications to users around the world in their language saying, “It looks like you’re in the area affected by The Explosion.”

Users who received such notifications shared screenshots on Facebook and also posted on rival social network Twitter, notes ABC.

Users who had linked their account to their mobiles received a text message asking them to “Reply SAFE if you’re OK”.

However, Zuckerberg’s post did not mention about the incorrect notifications, but Facebook’s Disaster Response department did post an apology.

“Unfortunately, many people not affected by the crisis received a notification,” reads the post.

“This kind of bug is counter to our intent. We worked quickly to resolve the issue and we apologise to anyone who mistakenly received the notification.”

It is estimated that at least 65 people were killed and hundreds injured in the bombings and many of them were also children. According to an investigation, a suicide bomber blew himself up in a crowded park in Lahore, Pakistan.

To Top