There is no better way to start a series down-under than score runs. Team India did exactly the same.

It looks like the blues have done their homework prior to their arrival in Australia. India won the Toss on the fastest wicket on this planet and opted to bat first. They seemed right on the money from the very first over.

Though Josh Hazlewood did manage to wreck the Indian Innings early on by dismissing Shikhar Dhawan cheaply, it was vice captain Virat Kohli along with Rohit Sharma who steered the Indian innings towards a mammoth first inning total.

India scored a stupendous 309 for 3 in 50 overs. Rohit Sharma scored a blistering knock of 171 runs in 163 balls which was studded with 13 fours and 7 sixes. Virat Kohli nearly missed on an epic ton in the series opener by just 9 runs. He was dismissed by James Faulkner at 91.

As per the ESPN Cric Info reports, Faulkner was the pick of the bowlers with two wickets to his name giving away 60 runs in 10 overs. Australian bowlers didn’t do justice to their bowling depth as they looked boring on the WACA pitch. Mitchell Starc’s injury seemed to have rocked the Australian bowling apart.

Australia need 310 runs from 50 overs at a staggering 6.20 run rate. They will have to really explore their batting depth if they want to chase down the massive total.

The second innings is ready to start. Stay tuned for all the live action.


Indian Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan, Barinder Sran

Australian Squad: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (c), Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Boland, Joel Paris

Match Schedule

Australia vs India 1st ODI

Date: Tuesday, 12 January 2016

Time: 11.20 am local time (8.50 am IST, 2.20 pm AEDT, 3.20 am GMT, 10.20 pm ET(previous day).

Venue: Western Australia Cricket Association (WACA), Perth

Live Stream: Star Sports

TV Schedule:

India: Star Sports 1, Star Sports 3, Star Sports HD1 and Star Sports HD3

Australia: Channel 9

UK: Sky Sports

USA: Willow TV