The Ashes 2015 History, Tickets, Dates, Fixtures: Complete Details

Flickr/ Dwayne Madden

One of the most celebrated Test Cricket series, The Ashes 2015, is scheduled to make it’s first hit on July 8. The Australia vs England series has been much anticipated since the sporting event’s birth in 1882.

For tickets, dates, venue, tv coverage and more, read below.

The Ashes History

The sports event now known as “The Ashes” started inn August 29, 1882, the Australian cricket team won its first victory on English soil. A mock obituary was published by a London journalist, Reginald Shirley Brooks, on Sporting Times stating that English cricket had died and its ashes brought to Australia.

“In affectionate remembrance of English cricket which died at The Oval, 29th August, 1882. Deeply lamented by a large circle of sorrowing friends and acquaintances, RIP. NB The body will be cremated and the Ashes taken to Australia,” quoted ESPN.

The English then set out to recover “the ashes” which it did after winning two consecutive tests. An urn was presented to Hon. Ivo Bligh, leader of the English team. The urn has since been the trophy representation of the series.

The Ashes 2015 Dates & Venue

This year’s series will commence on July 8 with Test 1, and will run until July 12. It will be in Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

Test 2 – July 16 to July 20 at Lord’s, London.

Test 3 – July 29 to August 2 at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Test 4 – August 6 to August 10 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

Test 5 – August 20 to August 24 at Kennington Oval, London.

TV Coverage

Nine Network will be airing all the 2015 and 2019 Ashes series. The cricket matches will be shown on free to air television on channel 9, notes HD channel Gem will also be airing the  series, Sydney Morning Herald revealed.

The Ashes 2015 Tickets

Tickets are selling fast, but you can visit these sites for ticketing details and purchase. – tickets start at £43

Cricket Australia – Complete travel packages

Glamorgan Cricket – Test 1 matches

Lord’s – Test 2 matches

Edgbaston Tickets – Test 3 matches

Trent Bridge – Test 4 matches

Surrey Tickets – Test 5 matches


To Top